About ICHR

Board of Commissioners and Director General

"A 19-member board of commissioners currently runs ICHR. These highly credible Commissioners are prominent members of the Palestinian society, and were selected from both inside Palestine and the Diaspora, to confirm the need for communication between different Palestinian communities, and to benefit from the expertise of the members of the Diaspora in enhancing and promoting ICHR. The Executive Office, emanating from the Board of Commissioners and headed by the Commissioner General, is the highest authority within ICHR and oversees its operations and performance. The Director General, appointed by the Executive Office, is the highest official responsible for managing divisions and staff in headquarters and Regional Offices. Until the law regulating the work of ICHR is passed by the Palestinian Legislative Council, ICHR's Board of Commissioners will continue to be the highest decision-making body.

Commissioners are selected in accordance with criteria as stated in ICHR's Bylaws and based on the Paris Principles.

The Director General leads the executive team of the ICHR, and he/she shall assume the duties of managing the day-to-day work in accordance with the approved strategies, plans, policies and regulations, and assume the responsibility of supervising the employees. The Director General shall contribute to the representation ICHR and develop its relations with all relevant official and non-official bodies, As well as making statements on the position of the Commission on human rights issues and initiating lobbying, advocacy and intervention with official institutions in human rights issues.




Mr. Issam Younis *

Mrs. Faiha Abdel-Hadi, Ph.D. *

Mr. Amjad Shawa

Mr. Antwan Shalhat

Mr. Asem Khalil, Ph.D. *

Mrs. Cairo Arafat, Ph.D.

Mr. Fateh Azzam

Mr. George Giacaman, Ph.D.

Mrs. Hama Zeidan

Mr. Issa Abu Sharar

Mr. Issam Aruri *

Mrs. Lubna Katbeh

Mrs. Mervat Rishmawi

Mr. Salameh Bseiso *

Mr. Shawqi Issa *

Mr. Talal Okal

Mr. Yahya Sarraj, Ph.D.

Mrs. Zainab Ghonaimy

Mr. Ziad Amro

Mr. Ammar Dwaik, LL.M, Ph.D.


* Members of the Executive Board


Honorary Members

Mrs. Hanan Ashrawi, Ph.D.

Dr. Mamdouh Aker

Mrs. Varsen Aghabekian, Ph.D.

Mr. Ahmad Harb, Ph.D.

Mr. Raji Sourani


Mr. Raja Shehadeh



Documents Related to Selection of Commissioners and ICHR's Governance:

Selection of Commissioners PDF

Criteria and Assessment of Commissioners PDF

Governance, Strategic Leadership and management of Commissioners and Staff PDF